English Knight/Man-at-Arms circa 1350

Overview

The overriding goal is to look like a medieval man from a particular place and time. For me, that is an English nobleman from about 1350. I plan to cover both my civilian clothing and military equipment.

I started in the SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) with a vague idea of what a medieval person wore. I knew that I liked knights at height of chivalry, plate armor, and that I was uncomfortable with tights and puffy shoulders. This eventually led to a focus on the 14th century in general. The battles of Crecy and Poitiers in particular were most exciting, being major English-won battles during the Hundred Years War. With that in mind I limited my recreation to between 1340 and 1360. Then I was introduced to The Order of Saint Sebastian; a 14th century living history group that reenacts English archers in the year 1359. Working within that time frame tightened up my research even more and when I began to assemble armor for SCA purposes, it made sense to keep a similar time frame. The narrow window seemed necessary to get it “right”.

984134_10152165347602218_5525259327084508810_n
Household Archer. Olde English Faire in Peoria, IL. June, 2014.

This blog will help document my kit is at its present state. Historical costume is always a work in progress. Elements will have photos and illustrations with explanatory text provided when necessary. Sources will be cited when it is imperative or convenient.

Leave a Reply

